Joshua Baerwald is a composer/cellist from Milwaukee, Wisconsin who strives to use his art in a variety of ways. As a cellist, he has performed in a variety of ensembles, including the Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra, two orchestras at Florida State University, University of Louisville's New Music Ensemble, and the American Modern Orchestra. His recent opera based on Kafka’s novella, The Trial, was premiered in May 2017 in conjunction with the Florida State University Opera Department. 

Joshua has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the Tallahassee Music Guild Scholarship, the Bess H. Ward Scholarship through the Florida State University Honors College, and a Virginia Center for the Creative Arts Residency. Josh was also a finalist in the 2018 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. 


In addition to his roles as an artist and musician, Joshua has been active as a member of his community, helping develop leadership retreats, facilitate programs, and function as a member of various panels on current social issues. Joshua received his B.M. in Music Composition at Florida State University, and is currently pursuing his M.M. in Music Composition at the University of Louisville as a Bomhard Fellow.

Joshua’s catalogue is self-published, and all scores and parts are available for rental or purchase. Inquiries can be made through the contact page

For a PDF of Joshua's Biography, click here. For a PDF of his resume, click here

Copyright © 2019 Joshua Baerwald.  All Rights Reserved.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black SoundCloud Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon